Pro Bono Awards and Fellowships

Robert F. Fussell Pro Bono Award

The Robert F. Fussell Pro Bono Award is given annually to the student who gives the most hours to pro bono service. Service, giving and professional responsibility exemplified by Judge Fussell’s distinguished career in public service and his dedication to pro bono work.

The award was created in 2009 from 2005 gifts by friends and admirers of Fussell – affectionately termed the “Fuzz Fund.” It was later further endowed by Fussell himself.

Fussell served as a U.S. bankruptcy judge for more than 20 years before retiring in 2003. He was particularly dedicated to providing pro bono services to veterans.

Fussell died in 2018, but his legacy continues through this award, the Judge Robert F. Fussell Reading Room, the Robert F. Fussell Scholarship and generations of lawyers who learned from his example.

Current Recipient

Celina Walker

Celina Walker

The award recipient for 2018 was Celina Walker in recognition of her substantial pro bono work, including participating in the founding of the 7Hills Legal Help Desk along with Ryan Smith (’18). Walker did the unheard-of by winning this award as a 2L and now, again as a 3L.

Fussell Awardees

  • 2018 – Celina Walker
  • 2017 – Celina Walker

Squire Patton Boggs Foundation Public Policy Fellowship

The Squire Patton Boggs Foundation Public Policy Fellowship was established in 2004 to recognize and reward exceptional law students who demonstrate a steadfast commitment to public service.

The foundation is rooted in a history of civil rights advocacy, originally funded with lawyers' fees from a pro bono employment discrimination case, and seeks to foster pro bono and public service in the U.S. and globally. The Public Policy Fellowship Program serves as its cornerstone, helping law students commit their summers to advancing public policy issues through non-profit institutions, government agencies and domestic or international organizations.

Since its inception, more than 200 fellows have participated in the program. Fellows from the University of Arkansas School of Law began to participate in 2018.

How To Apply

Interested students can apply to the Squire Patton Boggs Foundation Fellowship and learn more about the law school’s Summer Public Service Program.

Current Recipient

Katie Rose Martin

Katie Rose Martin

Katie Rose Martin is the University of Arkansas School of Law’s inaugural Public Policy Fellow is. Martin’s winning application was for a partnership with Home Restored, a rapid rehousing program for domestic violence victims in Northwest Arkansas. The program, funded by the Endeavor Foundation and operating under the auspices of the Peace at Home Family Shelter, works with victims, law enforcement and landlords to move domestic violence victims directly into safe and stable housing without the need for a residential shelter stay. See list of recipients below.

Patton Squire Boggs Public Policy Fellows

  • 2018 – Katie Rose Martin